The castes -Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaishyas and the Shudras.

The caste system originates back to The Rig Veda, one of the four vital sacred text collections that constitutes the Vedas.

The Rig Veda is an ancient text that contains sacred hymns of more than a thousand chants to Aryan gods. It is also considered as one of the most important out of the four collections because it contains an account of the origins of the universe. The universe is said to have emerged by sacrificing a cosmic being with supernatural powers named Purusha, to create all life. “When they divided Purusha the first person, a superbeing, in how many different portions did they arrange him? What became of his mouth, what of his two arms? What were his two thighs and his two feet called? His mouth became the brahman priest; his two arms were made into the rajanya warrior-noble; his two thighs the vaishyas merchants; from his two feet the shudra peasant was born.

Don't waste your time
on finding examples

We can write the essay sample you need

” (Molloy 88). The caste system divides people into four castes -Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaishyas and the Shudras. Outside of this Hindu caste system were the Dalits or the untouchables. At the top of the hierarchy of the caste system are the Brahmins.

The Brahmins is made up of priests who conducts Vedic rituals. They are considered as the most important. Following the Brahmins are the Kshatriyas. The Kshatriyas take on all forms of public service. This includes warriors, rulers and administrators who serve the country, while the mercantile and business people in society are categorized under the Vaishyas.

At the bottom of the hierarchy are the Shudras, which consists of labourers and service providers.


I'm Owen!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out